Home About Us Alumni Convention Travel Award Photos Directory Members Mentorship Officers

UERMMMC Medical Alumni Association of America, Inc.




UERMMMC Medical Alumni Association of America, Inc.


Young UERM Alumni Travel Grant Award


UERM MARVADC Chapter Travel Grant Awardees

Dr. Pia Velasco ‘04, a 2nd year resident in Dermatology at UERMMMC.  “Case Discussion on Lymphoma Cutis”.  Presented by Drs. Claire Natividad ‘04 and Consuelo Clavecillas ‘04.
Drs. Therese Esagani-Elises ‘04, Paola Mendoza ‘04, and Adrian Velasquez ’04. “Survey of UERM Graduates Entering US Residency Programs, 2006-2007”.  Dr. Esagani-Elises is a Family Medicine Intern at University of Illinois, Rockford, IL; Dr. Paola Mendoza is a Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation Intern at East Carolina University, Greenville, NC, and Dr. Adrian Velasquez is an Internal Medicine Intern at Carney Hospital, Dorchester, MA.

Dr. Katherine Cayetano-Corsiga ’00.  A Case of Lepromatous Leprosy in Hartford, Connecticut”.  1st Year Internal Medicine Resident, University of Connecticut Health Science Center, Farmington, CT.


                          Michell Cerilles, MD '06 -Mind Quest for the Young Scientist &  Workbook on Physics for High School Students
                          Adrian Velasquez, MD '04 - Possible Role of Intraventricular Orexin in   Arousal and Early EEG Entropy in Rats After Cardiac Arrest


Dr. Therese Fermo-Gonzalez, UERM Class '03, "Evaluating the Hand Hygiene Attitudes, Practices and Compliance of Health Care Workers in the Critical Care Units of a Tertiary Hospital from January 2006 to September 2007". 
Dr. Elizabeth Encarnacion-Villarico, UERM Class '88, for her case-presentation and discussion of "Splenic Infarction in a Patient with Chronic Myelogenous Leukemia: Implication to Private Practice".
Dr. Marie Crisel Erfe, UERM Class '06, First Runner-up and Presenter, for her abstract on “In Vitro Leishmanicidal Activity of Platelet Antimicrobial Peptides RP-1 and AARP-1”.


Dr. Adrian Velasquez, UERM Class 2004, for his paper on “Long Term Outcome of Minor Troponin Elevations in the Intensive Care Unit,”
Dr. Michael Mendoza, UERM Class 2006, for his paper on “An unusual path for an unusual cancer: A case of metastatic Synovial Sarcoma presenting as Acute Spinal Cord Compression.”


Dr. Patricia Baile-Go, UERM Class 2006, "Neonatal Outcomes of Mothers Treated with Glyburide and Insulin for Gestational Diabetes."


Dr. Christa O'Hana V. San Luis, UERM Class 2007, is a Resident in Neurology at the University of Connecticut. Her paper, “Percutaneous Endoscopic Gastrostomy Tube Placement in Left Versus Right Middle Cerebral Artery Stroke,” was presented at the American Academy of Neurology meeting this past March and will be published in NeuroRehabilitation.

Dr. Blanca Bisuna, UERM Class 1997, is in a Family Medicine residency program in LSUHSC – Lafayette. Her paper, “Treatment of Atrophic Acne Scars Using Intradermal Normal Saline,” is a prospective, single center clinical trial.


Dr. Pia R. Mendoza, UERM Class 2006, for her paper “Histopathologic Grading of Anaplasia for Retinoblastoma.”

Dr. Christa O'Hana V. San Luis, UERM Class 2007, for her paper “Dysphagia as a Predictor of Outcome and Transition to Palliative Care among Middle Cerebral Artery Ischemic Stroke Patients.”


Cheryll Udani, MD. “A Single-blind Randomized Controlled Trial on the Effectiveness of Ginkgo biloba in Increasing Immediate and Delayed Memory Index Scores of Healthy UERMMMCI Medical Students Using the Repeatable Battery for the Assessment of Neuropsychological Status (RBANS).”

Anna Cecilia S. Tenorio, MD. “Knowledge, Practices and Attitudes on Diabetic Foot Care among Patients with Diabetes at the Family Health Clinic at the University Hospital Robert B. Green Downtown Campus in San Antonio, TX.”


To be announced December 2015


Click to download the application form


Home About Us Alumni Convention Travel Award Photos Directory Members Mentorship Officers